Thursday, 23 May 2013

Media Release - Casey ANZAC Centenary Community Committee Announced - 22 May 2013

The ANZAC Centenary Local Grants Program will provide funding of up to $100,000 to each Federal Electorate to help local communities commemorate the Centenary of ANZAC.

Each Member of the House of Representatives is appointing a local ANZAC Centenary Communities Committee to call for, and assess, applications for suitable projects and events in their electorate.

I am pleased to announce the appointment of a Casey Electorate Committee composed of ten outstanding local residents with a proven track record of community contribution.

Mr Ray Yates, the Principal of Monbulk Primary School will Chair the Committee. Mr Yates has strongly promoted the stories of Monbulkā€™s ANZACs in the community, as well as contributing to numerous community organisations. He was also a Councillor and Mayor of the Shire of Lillydale. He will be joined by: Brigadier (retired) Michael Phelps, AM, a recently retired senior member of the Australian Army now residing in Lilydale; Mr Graham Warren, the former Mayor and Councillor of the Shire of Yarra Ranges; Mr Anthony McAleer, a local historian and author of a number of significant works on the contribution of local ANZACs from Mt Evelyn, Monbulk and Lilydale; Ms Margi Sank, who has contributed greatly to the Rotary Club of Lilydale, Mt Evelyn Bendigo Community Bank and a number of other local causes; Mr Bob Gannaway, a prominent affiliate member and Commemorations Officer at the Healesville RSL and Associate Member of the Vietnam Veterans Association of Victoria; Ms Sue Thompson, a former journalist, author, historian and long-time promoter of the history of Lilydale and District; Mr Chris Thomas, prominent local business owner and community volunteer in Warburton and the broader Upper Yarra; Mr John Shackleton, Principal at Gladysdale Primary School and resident of Warburton; and; Mr Blake Hadlow, our youngest member, a 21 year old student from Mt Evelyn with a deep interest in the history of our ANZACs. Blake is the grandson of the late Harry Smith of Montrose, who served Australia with distinction in Korea, and then afterwards as a prominent Member of the RSL.

I want to thank every member of the Committee for agreeing to serve for the benefit of our local community. It is a Committee that has a breadth of experience that will bring a range of perspectives as well as being representative of all corners of our electorate.

The Committee can consider applications from community and ex-service organisations, schools and other educational institutions, museums and cultural institutions, local government and other not-for-profit organisations.

The types of projects eligible for funding will include;

public commemorative events, including the commemoration of important military anniversaries, enlistments and other First World War events that have had a significant impact on the local community; new First World War memorials or honour boards; the restoration of existing First World War memorials or honour boards; the preservation, interpretation and display of First World War wartime and military memorabilia and artefacts; and relevant school projects, such as research with a focus on military involvement and social impacts, and the products of research, e.g. written material, documentaries etc.

The Committee will be writing to as many eligible voluntary groups and organisations as possible.

Applications are open from the end of May and close at the end of February 2014.

Further details, including application forms can be obtained from my website or by calling my office on 9727 0799.

Read 3133 times